Reading 1

So, this blog is not currently attached to the DS106 Site. I need to explore that more. But below are my responses to the first week’s reading. I am an analytical person that deals with the organization of information, so I tend to work best in numbered or bulleted lists. So, until I become more familiar with this class, I will most likely stick to a numbered format where I answer the questions directly. Once I become more comfortable, I will try and branch out and be a little more creative with my posting.

  1. What are your main insights and ideas from the given reading? As I was reading this chapter, I was thinking to myself that this was a long drawn out way to say they we have gone from a consumption (of information) society to a production (of information) society. Essentially, we used to rely on other people to create the content that we consumed. With the advent of Web 2.0, we now have platforms to create content at the individual level. We went from a one to many scenario to a many to many scenario. I found it interesting that the author described all of this within the context of New Literacy. As a librarian, I have been very interested in literacy, especially digital literacy. I liked that he framed literacy as not just reading and writing and understanding, but also described the importance of context to literacy and the application of that consumption.
  2. What unique terminology, jargon, buzzwords, and other concepts appear in this reading that require your careful attention and definition? What are your interpretations of these words and concepts? Probably the two biggest concepts that I struggled with in this chapter were Discourse and Ethos. While I was reading the first part of the chapter, I kind of felt as though I were reading a religious discourse or text and found it a bit stodgy. As you get later into the text, when he starts comparing Web 1.0 to Web 2.0, I was definitely more in my element. As a librarian, I am very comfortable with terminology such as taxonomy, folksonomy, metadata, and other such terms referring to the classification of information. But, I guess, basically, the gist of this is that we develop a way of looking at the world and that heavily influences our literacy. And as we add a technological component, we expand the breadth of what we consider to be literacy.
  3. How does this reading challenge/expand/contradict your definition of (digital) storytelling? I think this reading reinforces and in a sense expands my personal definition of storytelling. I think that everything we put out there, be it a blog, a Flickr roll, a Twitter feed, a Tumbler feed, etc, we are telling our story. What this article did for me was recognize that. i don’t think I ever truly thought about my personal social media accounts as me being a digital storyteller. But what I find interesting, is that the different platforms allow me to tell my story in different ways. My personal favorite platform is Instagram. I thing the image is one of the most powerful ways to show how you see the world and how you are navigating your world. It is also a communication tool that can transcend culture and language. So, I guess what I am saying, is that I took this class wanting to learn more about what digital storytelling is, and this first chapter actually helped me realize that I am already doing it.
  4. Having engaged this reading, what are you now curious about?  What questions are you asking, particularly about (digital) storytelling? Now, I am curious about different ways that people are using technology to tell their story. It is very easy to get focused on what I want to say, but I want to know what other people are trying to say. And I want to know more about how they are saying it. 
  5. What additional scholarship, popular media, teaching resources, or other media are related to your developing understanding of both (digital) storytelling and this reading? I don’t know any at this time, but I am hoping to discover more as this class progresses.

One thought on “Reading 1

Leave a Reply

