Reading 2: Visual Networks

I know I said I’d try to be more creative about my reading reflections, but the truth is, I really like structure. It gives me a framework to follow, and allows me to be more creative. I have found that if I am not given a framework, I spin my wheels and drain my creative energy trying to come up with a good organizational schema to follow. So, that being said, I will answer the following questions about this week’s reading:

  1. What are your main insights and ideas from the given reading? Probably the most enlightening part of this chapter was when the author talked about analyzing an image through syntactical elements (such as framing, scale, tone and space) and semantic elements (form and structure, cultural views and assumptions, and the relationship between producers and consumers). Other than that, this article was a pretty straight forward look at how Flickr is a Web 2.0 site. The author did a decent job of outlining his argument for why it is a Web 2.0 technology (to which I have no disagreement), and he even gave some basic tips on using Flickr for both personal and educational uses.
  2. What unique terminology, jargon, buzzwords, and other concepts appear in this reading that require your careful attention and definition? What are your interpretations of these words and concepts? None of the terminology in this chapter felt particularly jargon-like.
  3. How does this reading challenge/expand/contradict your definition of (digital) storytelling? This chapter did not add anything to my idea of digital storytelling. It did, however, nicely describe and discuss a platform that can be used in the storytelling process.
  4. Having engaged this reading, what are you now curious about?  What questions are you asking, particularly about (digital) storytelling? I have been using Flickr for a while. Reading this article has actually made me want to revisit my Flickr account and organize my photos and check out some of the more interesting Web 2.0 features. 
  5. What additional scholarship, popular media, teaching resources, or other media are related to your developing understanding of both (digital) storytelling and this reading? I don’t know any at this time, but I am hoping to discover more as this class progresses.

One thought on “Reading 2: Visual Networks

Leave a Reply

