Response & Reflection: Week 10

The chapter we read this week is A Road Traveled: The Evolution of the Digital Storytelling Practice. I had a hard time getting into the chapter initially, but as it progressed, I became more engrossed in the author’s writing.

  1. What are your main insights and ideas from the given reading? The main thing I took away from this reading is that storytelling started as an idea and then took off to become a part of pedagogy. I also took away that digital stories live in everyone and come in many shapes, sizes, and formats.
  2. What unique terminology, jargon, buzzwords, and other concepts appear in this reading that require your careful attention and definition? What are your interpretations of these words and concepts? I didn’t feel like there was a lot of unique terminology. At this point, we have been exposed to quite a bit of reading about digital storytelling, so things are becoming more familiar. One thing that was difficult were the abbreviations that were used but not spelled out. I assume they were spelled out in earlier chapters, but without access to those chapters, I wasn’t able to figure out what the acronyms stood for.
  3. How does this reading challenge/expand/contradict your definition of (digital) storytelling? I’d say this reading expanded my definition of digital storytelling by opening my eyes to the fact that songs can be considered a form of storytelling. I love that each week, my idea of storytelling becomes bigger and more inclusive. In fact, for this weeks digital story critique, I have decided to step a bit out of the box and choose something very different from what I have been focusing on. Read my next blog post to find out what it is.
  4. Having engaged this reading, what are you now curious about?  What questions are you asking, particularly about (digital) storytelling? This reading actually made me remember some of the music my father enjoyed listening to when I was growing up. He was a big fan of ballads. I don’t remember a lot of them, but I would like to go back and research the ones I do remember a little more.
  5. What additional scholarship, popular media, teaching resources, or other media are related to your developing understanding of both (digital) storytelling and this reading? Sorry, nothing this week.

One thought on “Response & Reflection: Week 10

Leave a Reply

