Digital Story Critique 9: |Lexi + Jake | Sweet Olive Farm Wedding | Georgia Wedding Photographer

For this week’s digital story, I chose to critique a wedding album – | Lexi + Jake | Sweet Olive Farm Wedding | Georgia Wedding Photographer |. This album was posted by the photographer with minimal text. But I think most weddings photos are self-explanatory. I chose this one for a couple of reasons. First, it is in line with my theme of photography. Second, I think a wedding can tell so much about a couple, from the location they choose, to the wardrobe they select, to the people that surround them on their special day. I also like the fact that these photos will show the best part of the day and the best part of the people. So while we are getting the story of Lexi & Jake’s wedding day, we are also missing all of the grit of real life. In this sense, a wedding album creates a sort of fairytale.

Lexi & Jake got married at Sweet Olive Farm, a rescue farm (all of the animals are rescues). The setting is beautiful and I loved that they included photos of and with the animals. As you scroll through the photos, you can definitely get a sense of who these people are and the events they planned just before, during, and after the wedding.

To critique the story, I chose elements from  Digital Storytelling: Evaluation Methods.

Purpose of Story Establishes a purpose early on and maintains a clear focus throughout. 10
Dramatic Question A meaningful dramatic question is asked and answered within the context of the story. 10
Quality of Images Images create a distinct atmosphere or tone that matches different parts of the story. The images may communicate symbolism and/or metaphors. 10

I gave this story a 30 because it easily met all of the criteria I elected to critique it on.

Purpose of the story: Lexi & Jake’s wedding. It couldn’t be more clear. And since all of the photos are related to either the ceremony or to the location, the photographer was able to maintain the purpose throughout the entire album.

As for Dramatic Question… I think there is always the “will they say yes or no?” And of course “will they live happily ever after?” The first question is answered and the second question is implied, because this is hard to determine until much later down the road.

For quality of images… they are stunning. The photographer did a great job of capturing moments and feelings. And the picture quality is wonderful and seems to suit the bride and the groom as well as the setting.

Rating number 2 led me to an interesting thought. It would be a great project for this photographer to revisit Lexi and Jake in say 10 or 20 years and photograph where they are on that anniversary of their wedding. I think it would help to answer that question of “did they live happily ever after?”

3 thoughts on “Digital Story Critique 9: |Lexi + Jake | Sweet Olive Farm Wedding | Georgia Wedding Photographer

  1. This was such an interesting topic to do a digital story critique on. I would have never thought about a wedding album, but it makes a lot of sense. The pictures were very sweet, and definitely did tell a lot about the couple themselves. I haven’t seen a lot of wedding albums, but this was a nice theme. I think a lot of people would do well in a 10 years later type of album, I always love the follow ups.

    Like

  2. Response to Kate’s Digital Story
    Wow! What a cool wedding! I would have loved to have been there. I agree with you; the photographer did a great job. She has a great eye. Her framing of the barn and the old house in particular was quite stunning. It is really interesting that you chose to view a wedding album as a “digital story.” I think that’s quite brilliant. I would have never thought to do that. Thank you for expanding my understanding of what a digital story can be.
    -Andrew

    Like

  3. Hi Karen,

    Beautiful photos and I agree that they tell the story of the day and more. And hopefully, the setting at the animal rescue is revealing a bit about their ethics, as well. I enjoyed the mix of black and white and color photos. The light choices are also very artistic and this photographer obviously has some experience. I agree with your critique and also enjoyed your suggestion of revisiting the happy couple some years in the future. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

