Digital Story Critique: My Food Revolution

We were assigned two classmates’ digital stories to critique for our Digital Storytelling class. The first one I am critiquing is Robert Piper’s My Food Revolution. Robert decided to tell the world about his decision to stop eating meat. The story was well outlined and gave very compelling reasons for his personal choices.

I really liked his story because I have often struggled with the morality of eating meat. However, I have yet to completely give it up, primarily because I do not eat legumes, which would make it difficult for me to get enough protein in my diet. One of the biggest take-a-ways for me from Robert’s story was the lesson he took from his parents… that food is meant to nurish our bodies, not to be a form of entertainment.

To critique the story, I chose elements from Digital Storytelling: Evaluation Methods .

Point of View The point of view is well developed and contributes to the overall meaning of the story. 10
Choice of Content Contents create a distinct atmosphere or tone that matches different parts of the story. The images may communicate symbolism and/or metaphors. 10
Quality of Images Images create a distinct atmosphere or tone that matches different parts of the story. The images may communicate symbolism and/or metaphors. 8

I gave this story a 28 because it easily met all of the criteria I elected to critique it on.

Point of View… wthis story is obviously from Robert’s point of view. This easily came across in the story. I also liked that it was definitely personal and didn’t feel judgy or like he was trying to convince others to come to his way of thinking.

Choice of Content… the content was awesome. I have always been interested in nutrition and read everything I can get my hands on so that I can keep myself current. Great choice! And I loved how personal it was.

Quality of Images… I gave this one an 8 because I wasn’t sure if the photos were Robert’s own or if they were ones he pulled from other sources. It would have been nice to have been given this information, either in the introduction or with copyright information on each of the photos.

Overall, I really enjoyed watching this digital story and felt like the author was well connected to the content. He also made it very personal and imparted some interesting knowledge throughout which made it very engaging.

Leave a comment